Home / Business Ideas / How to Register a Business Name in Nigeria in 2018

How to Register a Business Name in Nigeria in 2018

In this post you will learn how to register a business name in Nigeria, what you will learn include but not limited; how to search for a name, how to register a business name.

So without further ado lets get started!

The registration of your business with the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) is one of the requirements of doing business with a name other than your personal name in Nigeria. The Corporate Affairs Commission (www.cac.gov.ng) is the body saddled with the responsibility of regulating the formation and management of companies in Nigeria. In this write-up, I will be explaining the steps involved in registering a Business Name in Nigeria.

The registration of business name under the Companies and Allied Matters Act of 1990 confers on the proprietor or partners the right to carry out their business under a Business Name. It does not
confer any special right or privilege or licence to carry on the business itself. For instance, if I register a hospital with the commission, it doesn’t grant me the right to practice medicine. I still have to obtain the licence from relevant professional bodies.

However, it’s very essential to register your business name, especially if your business has prospects for growth to avoid incurring the wrath of the law and unnecessary litigations in future.

To register your business name in Nigeria the first thing to do is to search for your desired name:

Step by Step on how to Register a Company (Private or Public)

 

  • Check for availability of proposed company name CLICK HERE to do that
  • Reserve a new Name
  • Complete pre-registration form – CAC1.1 –> Download the form
  • Pay filing fee to Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) click here to  Check the Fees for registering business name
  • Pay Stamp duty fee to FIRS.
  • Prepare the signed scan copy of your pre-registration documents for upload as follows:

 

  • Form CAC1.1
  • Memorandum and Article of Association (MEMART)
  • Proficiency certificate (where applicable)
  • Recognized form of identification for Director(s)/Subscriber(s) and Secretary
  • Stamp duty certificate
  • Evidence of payment to CAC
 
  • Upload the scanned documents for processing.
  • Submit the original copies of the documents uploaded at step 6 (Form CAC1.1, MEMART, etc) to the CAC office you had selected in exchange for your certificate and the Certified True copies of the documents.
ALSO READ   How to start pop corn business in Nigeria

For full procedures on how to register a business name in Nigeria click here

Alternatively, you can walk into any CAC state office nearest to you to complete your business name registration. Appended below are CAC state offices.

CAC State Offices


Corporate Headquarters

Plot 420, Tigris Crescent,
Off Aguiyi Ironsi Street,
Maitama
Abuja.
email: cservice@cac.gov.ng
Lagos (ALAUSA)
PLOT 7, OTUNBA JOBI FELE WAY, BEHIND MKO GARDENS,
ALAUSA, IKEJA,
Lagos State
Nigeria
email: oregun@cac.gov.ng
Kano
52, Unity Road, off Ibrahim Taiwo Road,
Kano
Kano State
Nigeria
email: kano@cac.gov.ng
 
Portharcourt
Plot 332, Danjuma Drive, Trans Amadi Industrial Layout,
Portharcourt
Rivers State
Nigeria
email: portharcourt@cac.gov.ng
 
Lagos (ISLAND)
NO 18/20, CATHOLIC MISSION STREET,
LAGOS ISLAND,
LAGOS
email: yaba@cac.gov.ng
 
Enugu
Plot 31B, Okpara Avenue
Enugu
Enugu State
Nigeria
email: enugu@cac.gov.ng
 
Benin
NO 44, GODWIN ABBE WAY, OFF SAPELE ROAD, G.R.A.,
BENIN-CITY,
Edo State
Nigeria
email: edo@cac.gov.ng
 
Owerri
BESIDE CITY GLOBAL HOTEL, BY UMUGUMA JUNCTION, PORTHARCOURT ROAD,
Owerri
Imo State
Nigeria
email: owerri@cac.gov.ng
 
Kaduna
No. 1 Yakubu Avenue, Behind Lugard Hall
Kaduna
Kaduna Sate
Nigeria
email: kaduna@cac.gov.ng
 
Jos
YINGI, RAYFIELD ROAD,
AFTER MTN OFFICE BEFORE GOLD N BASE JUNCTION,
BESIDE AIRFORCE BASE,
JOS,
PLATEAU STATE
jos@cac.gov.ng
 
Ibadan
Premium House, 1st Floor, Jericho,
opposite Evans publishing company,
Eleyele, Ibadan
Oyo State
Nigeria
email: ibadan@cac.gov.ng
 
Akure
151, OYEMEKUN ROAD,
AKURE, ONDO STATE
email: akure@cac.gov.ng
 
Ilorin
10, Adama Bola Sa’adu House 10, Ahmadu Bello way, G.R.A,
Ilorin
Kwara State
Nigeria
email: ilorin@cac.gov.ng
 
Abeokuta
56/63,First Avenue,
Beside O.K centre,
Ibara Housing Estate,
ABEOKUTA,
OGUN STATE
abeokuta@cac.gov.ng
 
Uyo
NO. 4, UBI INYANG STRET,
UYO,
AKWA IBOM STATE
uyo@cac.gov.ng
 
Calabar
38 MCC ROAD,
CALABAR,
CROSS RIVER STATE
calabar@cac.gov.ng
 
Makurdi
PLOT BNA 5366, ABU KING SHULUWA ROAD, OFF OTUKPO ROAD,
MAKURDI,
BENUE STATE.
makurdi@cac.gov.ng
 
Sokoto
NO 3, SULTAN ABUBAKAR ROAD,
SOKOTO,
SOKOTO STATE.
sokoto@cac.gov.ng
 
Minna
3, INTERCITY BANK BUILDING, 3RD FLOOR, (FORMER BOSSO ROAD),
MINNA,
NIGER STATE
minna@cac.gov.ng
 
Gombe
OPPOSITE GOMBE LOW-COST HOUSING ESTATE,
GOMBE,
GOMBE STATE
gombe@cac.gov.ng
 
DUTSE
NO 11, ASMA’U HOUSE, KIYAWA ROAD (SAME BUILDING WITH AFRI BANK),
DUTSE,
JIGAWA OFFICE
dutse@cac.gov.ng 
 
Bauchi
11A, MOHAMMED BELLO KIRFI ROAD,OPPOSITE STATE LIBRARY,
BAUCHI,
BAUCHI STATE
bauchi@cac.gov.ng
 
Katsina
NO. 5, BLOCK G, COMMERCIAL LAYOUT, GIDAN DAWA,
ALONG IBB WAY, KLP 137, KANO ROAD,
KATSINA,
KATSINA STATE
katsina@cac.gov.ng
 
BIRNIN KEBBI
NO. 14, SULTAN ABUBAKAR ROAD, ALONG GOVERNMENT HOUSE,
BIRNIN-KEBBI,
KEBBI STATE
kebbi@cac.gov.ng
 
Awka
NO 394, NNAMDI AZIKIWE AVENUE,
OPPOSITE REDEEMED CHRISTIAN CHURCH STATE HEADQUARTERS,
AWKA,
ANAMBRA STATE.
awka@cac.gov.ng
 
LOKOJA
NO 1, EQUITY PLAZA, SURULERE STREET, PHASE 1,
LOKOGOMA, LOKOJA,
KOGI STATE
lokoja@cac.gov.ng
 
GUSAU
2A, SANI ABATCHA WAY,
BESIDE GTB,
GUSAU,
ZAMFARA STATE.
gusau@cac.gov.ng
 
Yola
NO 2, HOSPITAL ROAD, OPPOSITE GALBOSE HOSPITAL,
JIMETA, YOLA,
ADAMAWA STATE
yola@cac.gov.ng
 
Maiduguri
ADJACENT STARCOMMS OFFICE,
DEMBOA ROAD, OLD G.R.A.,
MAIDUGURI,
BORNO STATE
maiduguri@cac.gov.ng
 
Asaba
PLOT 74, BLOCK 11, ASABA HOUSING ESTATE,
CORE AREA LAYOUT, DBS ROAD,
ASABA,
DELTA STATE
asaba@cac.gov.ng
 
Umuahia
PLOT 111B, ELEGHEIM LAYOUT, ALONG BCA ROAD,
UMUAHIA,
ABIA STATE
umuahia@cac.gov.ng
 
Lafia
19, SABON FEGI, OPPOSITE MODERN MARKET ROAD,
LAFIA,
NASARAWA STATE.
lafia@cac.gov.ng
 
Osogbo
KILOMETRE 4, GBONGAN ROAD, NEAR FRSC, BESIDE ADE BARE SPECIALIST HOSPITAL,
OGO OLUWA, OSOGBO,
OSUN STATE
osogbo@cac.gov.ng
 
Jalingo
153, OPPOSITE MURI HOTEL, HAMMA RUWA WAY,
JALINGO,
TARABA STATE
jalingo@cac.gov.ng
 
Yenagoa
NO 444, CHIEF MELFORD OKILO EXPRESS WAY, YENEZUE-GENE,
YENAGOA,
BAYELSA STATE.
yenagoa@cac.gov.ng
 
Abakaliki
NO 13, SAM EGWU WAY,
ABAKALIKI,
EBONYI STATE
abakaliki@cac.gov.ng
 
Ado-Ekiti
PLOT 4, COMMERCIAL BLOCK ‘C’ EXTENSION TO GRA ALONG NEW IYIN ROAD ( BANK/SECRETARIAT ROAD),
ADO-EKITI,
EKITI STATE.
 
FCT (ABUJA)
PLOT 565, NDOLA SQUARE, OFF MICHAEL OKPARA STREET,
ZONE 5, WUSE, ABUJA
abuja@cac.gov.ng

About admin

Hello there, welcome to Businesstutor.com.ng. We are here to help you identify unique business ideas and tell you how you can exploit them. Feel free to connect with us via our social media handles to stay in touch. To your success!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: